Baked Pumpkin Donuts with cinnamon Sugar 

Baked Pumpkin Donuts with Cinnamon SugarWho doesn’t love donuts. Honestly. I see so many pictures of donuts all over instagram these days, they are so trendy. I fee like the fancy donut has completely taken over the fancy cupcake, what do you think? Anywho, I was so inspired by a picture the other day that I made some of my own.

 I haven’t made donuts in a while, but I have a handy-dandy donut baking pan, that I love using. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good hot fried donut, but I dont really love the calories with all the oil, so when making them at home, I opt to bake them.

Not to mention the main ingredient is pumpkin, heelllllllloooooo superfood! Pumpkins are incredibly wonderful in that they have so many beneficial nutrients. Let’s not get carried away though, these are still doughnuts, with just a few extra bonus points.

These were incredibly simple to make.

For the donut:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (canned pumpkin)

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoon of flour (all purpose

For the topping:

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

2 tablespoon of butter, melted

*if you have pumpkin pie spice on hand, you can use 1 1/2 teaspoons of that instead of the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. =)

Combine all ingredients except for the flour, and beat until smooth. Slowly add the flour until mixed in completely.

Preheat the oven to 350, and light grease the donut pan(s). Unsure of how much I would like my pan, I only bought one. Needless to say, I had to do 3 rounds of doughnut baking. I will be buying more soon. Fill pans about 3/4 of the way full.

Bake 15-18 minutes, until the tops have a cake like texture, and a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for about 5 minutes. They still need to be warm but cool enough to handle. I used a baster to swirl some butter onto them to make the cinnamon sugar topping stick nicely. I tossed the doughnuts one at a time in a large bowl with the sugar, but shaking them in a plastic ziplock would do the trick too.

Behold, doughnuts.

Leave a comment